Winning London

What a whirlwind weekend. It seems like everything that could have gone right in London did go right. London was also my last international trip until I go home, and the only city that made me wish I studied abroad there (*important note: not instead of Madrid, maybe in addition to though…). I went with the Madrid girls in my sorority (minus Anna and Rachel) Allison, Eliza, Morgan, and Alexa, and I even ran into my friend Vic from high school and my sister’s boyfriend David!

IMG_4401

‘Ello there!

I flew into London Gatwick airport late at night, but had to rush through customs (only other passport stamp I’ve needed to get disappointingly), withdraw some pounds (feeling that exchange rate, thanks Econ), buy a ticket to Victoria Station in downtown London and change two metro lines all before public transportation closed at 12:30 am. At least these people speak English! London was the first time I’ve been in a native English-speaking country since August. That’s crazy.

After so many close calls lucky breaks, Morgan, Eliza and I arrived at Palmers Lodge Hostel in Swiss Cottage, which was nice, clean, conveniently located, and appeared to be a renovated mansion. We were with Allison and Alexa in a room of three rows of three bunk beds which we affectionately called “The Treehouse.” We ate the most delicious croissants and toast at the included breakfast, and set off to Abbey Road. We also met up briefly with our friend Sarah who is studying in London, but she was off to Scotland that weekend.

IMG_4270

After narrowly avoiding some traffic incidents trying to take this picture (Abbey Road is indeed an actual road), we explored Baker Street (The Great Mouse Detective anyone?!) and ate lunch in Heaven at Chipotle before heading off to ok now I mean Heaven Harry Potter World (!!!!!!!).

1459210_10152048637612463_383094123_n

Harry Potter World is the movie set compound for all eight movies and is unlike any other place I’ve ever been. I can still remember my Auntie Elise giving my sister Michelle and I our first copies of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and how Harry, Ron and Hermione’s coming of age paralleled my own. I was one of those kids lucky enough to get into Harry Potter at a young age, but even as I’ve grown up I have continued to re-read the stories and get lost in the, well, magic of it all. J.K. Rowling is an inspirational storytelling visionary, and people of all ages can take something away from reading her stories, even the Muggles. 

IMG_0971 IMG_4282 IMG_1015 2

IMG_4316

First Christmas at Hogwarts since filming. Bring on the Butterbeer!

IMG_4334

When it was time to leave Harry Potter World, we went back to central London, explored the Oxford Circus Station metro area decorated for Christmastime and had dinner and hard cider (YUM) at Garfunkel’s before catching the metro back to Swiss Cottage. The London Underground, or “Tube” took a little getting used to because rides are more expensive, tickets need to be checked at the entrance and exit, and the lines are named instead of just going by the stops (“Jubilee” was our lucky line). It wasn’t the most confusing metro I’ve been in, but it was different to have cushioned seats and not have people staring at you like they do in Madrid.

IMG_1075 2

The next morning, we caught a FREE walking tour from our hostel around London from a struggling British actor Eddie (how Study Abroad/European is that?!).

London Walking Tour:

  • Green Park where we saw people training and fathers playing with babies.
  • Caught the Changing of the Guard in front of Buckingham Palace (LOOK WHO I WAS STANDING NEXT TO).
1467214_10152054781313894_299564865_n

My friend from high school Vic is studying abroad in London this semester!

IMG_4351

IMG_4363

  • Big Ben/Houses of Parliament/St. Paul’s Cathedral

IMG_4388

  • Westminster Abbey

IMG_4393

  • London Bridge

IMG_4406

IMG_4421

Montgomery cheddar cheese with leeks and onions on sourdough bread…

IMG_4433

My sister’s boyfriend David now lives just outside of London, but met my friends and I in the city for a tour of Tower Bridge and coffee. I really missed him too, and we FaceTimed Michelle and my parents from Starbucks. It was great for both of us to see a familiar face, and I’m so glad my friends got to see how great he is! Anonymous was overheard saying, “It sucks he’s her sister’s boyfriend, because I think I’m in love…” 🙂

1471957_641940345856114_1925038011_n

Sunday morning, Morgan and I got up a little earlier and went back to Westminster Abbey to walk around the monastery and surrounding gardens (we couldn’t go inside because we didn’t have time to stay for the whole mass). We also got another view of the London Eye before meeting up with the others at King’s Cross Station to take the famous “Platform 9 3/4” photograph that all Harry Potter fans will recognize. We took a train out of the station back to the airport, and I spent my last few remaining pounds on a sandwich, a UK version of Cosmopolitan magazine, and some candy in the Gatwick airport.

IMG_4491

IMG_4572

Leaping through the platform on my way to Hogwarts!

Overall, I was enamored by London. The jolly yet refined accents, the helpful and stylish people, the cosmopolitan and clean look and feel of the city itself, and the overwhelming amount of history in such a large place made me feel like I’d need at least a week to even cover the basics. I definitely need to go back to London. The city is so big that transportation to and fro requires so much time, money, and energy, but I feel like I was able to cover a lot in the weekend I had there, and it was definitely a top weekend of the semester with my friends. The lifestyle and daily routine is SO different from Madrid, but as my new friend from the Pub Crawl pointed out, “traveling to new cities is what makes you cultured“.

Leave a Reply

