Baby, you a song

Day 29: Five songs or pieces of music that speak to you or bring back memories. Use Grooveshark or YouTube to include them.

1. I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing- Aerosmith

I have to say, I have been one lucky girl when it comes to romance, and I guess you could say my experience with this song set the precedent. I was at a school dance with the boy I had had a crush on for years a little while, and during the last slow song of a perfect evening (he even wore a pink tie to match my dress), this song came over the speakers. We danced close and my heart fluttered with anticipation. When Steven Tyler sang, “I don’t wanna miss one smile, I don’t wanna miss one kiss…” it was like a sign from God Steven Tyler. The boy pulled back, gazed down at me with those piercing baby blues, delicately moved a lock of hair behind my ear, and delivered the most perfect movie-like kiss probably ever. Bravo.

2. You’ll Be In My Heart– Phil Collins, the Tarzan Soundtrack

For some reason, my mom always cleans the house to old Disney soundtracks, and Tarzan has always been her favorite. I can still picture her dancing a broom around the kitchen singing, “When destiny calls you, you must be strong. I may not be with you, but you have to hold on. They’ll see in time, I know, we’ll show them together ‘cause you’ll be in my heart.” The older I get the more I appreciate the message of this song, and it will forever make me think of the love and support I get from my mom 24/7.

3. Fade Into Darkness– Avicii

Avicii may not be a master of lyrics, but even the first couple seconds of this song will forever remind me of my freshman year at Syracuse. “Looking up there’s always sky. Rest your head, I’ll take you high. We won’t fade into darkness, won’t let you fade into darkness.” After the expectedly emotional first couple days of college, I can distinctly remember the day I fell in love with Syracuse and never looked back (September 11, 2011). Avicii was playing at our outdoor fall concert, Juice Jam (as seen in the video), and the song has made me smile ever since.

4. Drunk On You– Luke Bryan

Luke Bryan is my favorite country artist, and I’ve seen him perform this song in concert twice. I’d heard a few of his hits before, but seeing a video of this song performed acoustically in a Wal-Mart of all places made me fall in love with the Luke beyond the music. “Girl, you make my speakers go boom boom. dancin’ on the tailgate in the full moon. That kinda thing makes a man go mmm hmmm” Mmm hmm is right. Too bad he’s married…

5. #1- Nelly

This song has been my inspiration for many different situations. I listen to it when I need an extra push before a big presentation, to run that last mile, before a fun night out, or even just when I’m feeling less than self-assured. “I am number one. Two is not a winner, and three nobody remembers.”

 

Leave a Reply

