Sophomore Slump Or Comeback Of The Year

Well, after almost two weeks at home I have moved past shock and denial, through despair and depression, and am well on my way to recovery with the idea that I am halfway done with college. Seeing my older sister and some close friends graduate this year made me not only incredibly proud of them, but also melancholy about the fact that in just two short years, I’ll (hopefully) be making that same long trek across the stage. Anyway, thinking about the two incredible years I have behind me at Syracuse University and the promising two ahead of me is both happy and sad, but at least I can say I have learned a few things by sophomore year from the people I have met and the experiences I have been fortunate enough to have.

5 Things You Should Learn in College

  1. The hardest lessons to learn are the ones taught outside the classroom“- Cooperation, tolerance, selflessness, acceptance and love are all traits that you can’t find explained in a textbook, but they are perhaps some of the most important to making it in this world. Coming from someone who is driven and self-motivated almost to a fault, I can say that for me, strengthening these skills was one of the hardest yet most rewarding challenges I have faced in my young adult life. If you’re lucky you’ll meet people (*TJAGEW*) that will push you to want to be a better person and forego all judgement while you’re on your way to becoming one.
  2. Take advantage of classroom resources“- I know you’ve heard this a million times before, so why haven’t you done it yet? I used to think going to office hours was a sign of weakness, until I learned the hard way that sometimes it is the difference between failing a class and getting a C. If you’re struggling or even just being lazy, seeking help before you get a wakeup call test grade can save you a few late nights and panic attacks before the cumulative final.
  3. Be selfish“- Never in your life will you get to do exactly what you want to do, when you want to do it, like you can in college. I’m not saying you shouldn’t consider other peoples’ feelings or give back to the community, but take some time to be honest with yourself about the person you want to be and the things YOU want to accomplish. Make a list of what you want to do and don’t let others stand in your way.
  4. Take risks“- Introduce yourself. Join that club. Apply for that internship. Study abroad. The scope and scale of possibilities are endless, especially if you aren’t afraid to take that next step. The higher the risk, the higher the reward. “Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.” – T. S. Eliot
  5. Accept change“- Days go by and nothing seems different, but when you look back, so much has changed. I can confidently say I am a very different person than who I was in middle school, high school, and even freshman year of college. Every relationship, good or bad, romantic or otherwise, has taught me something not only about other people, but also about myself. I know that as I grow up, different people will play different roles as I move through life, but the most important part is seeing the beauty in every soul, and the lesson in every day.
One thought on “Sophomore Slump Or Comeback Of The Year

  1. Pingback: Linked_In | getat_Mel

Leave a Reply

